Blaise Pascal and the God of Abraham

Blaise Pascal (1623-1662) was a French mathematician, physicist, writer, inventor, and philosopher. On the evening of November 23, 1654, he had a mystical religious experience that permanently altered his life.  The following was found written on a piece of paper sewn into his coat:

 

Fire

‘God of Abraham, God of Isaac, God of Jacob,’ not of philosophers and scholars.
Certainty, certainty, heartfelt, joy, peace.
God of Jesus Christ.
God of Jesus Christ.
My God and your God.
‘Thy God shall be my God.’
The world forgotten, and everything except God.
He can only be found by the ways taught in the Gospels.
Greatness of the human soul.
‘O righteous Father, the world had not known thee, but I have known thee.’
Joy, joy, joy, tears of joy.
I have cut myself off from him.
They have forsaken me, the fountain of living waters.
‘My God wilt thou forsake me?’
Let me not be cut off from him for ever!
And this is life eternal, that they might know thee, the only true God, and Jesus Christ whom thou hast sent.’
Jesus Christ.
Jesus Christ.
I have cut myself off from him, shunned him, denied him, crucified him.
Let me never be cut off from him!
He can only be kept by the ways taught in the Gospel.
Sweet and total renunciation.
Total submission to Jesus Christ and my director.
Everlasting joy in return for one day’s effort on earth.
I will not forget thy word. Amen.

 

Image

About prophetize

Erstwhile philosopher and ersatz thinker. Arabic linguist by profession. Dabble with a few other languages. I have a testimony of the gospel of Christ as restored through Joseph Smith. Strong faith in modern prophecy and prophets. Disinclined to be admiring of what passes for "progressiveness" these days.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blaise Pascal and the God of Abraham

  1. That was beautiful. I guess I always think of times past … .like the 1600s and a pretty godly time, but I’m sure people were just as sinful as they ever have been. It’s amazing how the Lord inspired people, even before the restoration of the Gospel.

    Like

  2. prophetize says:

    Thank you. To me this represents the truth that God stands revealed or He remains forever unknown. Pascal was one of the towering intellectuals of his age, and he encountered something ineffable and transcendent that night, some spiritual experience that caused him to know the real God, and not the God of the philosophers, but the One who spoke to Abraham and said, “Get thee out of thy father’s house”, etc.

    When you actually receive a revelation, all theory goes out the window.

    Like

Leave a Reply

