Solar myths, echoes, or irrational quantities

A hearty welcome to my new blog.  Previous attempts were half-hearted and desultory, and so now again I seek to proclaim myself to the ether.  As briefly alluded to on my about page, this is where I will express many of my personal thoughts, theories, interests, miscellania, etc.  Some will not interest you; some will most definitely be cantankerous and provocative. I relish and enjoy healthy debate, argument, and give-and-take.  Yes, I have political opinions that will no doubt frustrate and annoy you.  You will simply have to live with that.  Yes, I am unabashedly a true blue believer in the Mormon gospel.  You will also have to accept that.

But I hope and trust that you will find the conversation here trenchant.

A brief word regarding the “solar myths, echoes, or irrational quantities” line.  I ran into this fascinating self-description in reading a book about the development of the Oxford English Dictionary.  The book is entitled The Meaning of Everything by Simon Winchester.  The quote is from Sir James Murray, who was the most famous editor and lexicographer of the OED.  He was a self-effacing man who literally came from the poor hills of Scotland, practically self-taught in philology and linguistics, who went on to lead the most astounding intellectual effort of the 19th century.  At any rate, this is what he said about himself when the pressures of international fame started to creep in on him: “I am a nobody. Treat me as a solar myth, or an echo, or an irrational quantity, or ignore me altogether” (Winchester, p. 70).  I am smitten by this man’s modesty and beguiled by the language he employed.

About prophetize

Erstwhile philosopher and ersatz thinker. Arabic linguist by profession. Dabble with a few other languages. I have a testimony of the gospel of Christ as restored through Joseph Smith. Strong faith in modern prophecy and prophets. Disinclined to be admiring of what passes for "progressiveness" these days.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

