“Alone in the Pews”

Demographics is definitely having an impact upon the membership of the Church.  An interesting little article in Time magazine:

http://www.time.com/time/magazine/article/0,9171,1137681,00.html 

Postponing marriage and family is a trend that has gained stream for quite some time.  My question: what will the future impact be on American Mormon numbers since couples my age and younger will be having fewer children?

As my dad jokingly says when he’s chided on not showing up for a service project, “I’m still trying to follow Spencer W. Kimball’s counsel to have as many children as I can.  This keeps me quite busy!”  Has the emphasis really changed all that much?  Is this merely one of the many side effects of post-modern American materialism?  We are collectively richer than ever before in terms of basic necessities of life, yet we are just not having as many kids.  A fascinating trend with quite a few implications for the future.

About prophetize

Erstwhile philosopher and ersatz thinker. Arabic linguist by profession. Dabble with a few other languages. I have a testimony of the gospel of Christ as restored through Joseph Smith. Strong faith in modern prophecy and prophets. Disinclined to be admiring of what passes for "progressiveness" these days.
This entry was posted in Society at Large. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “Alone in the Pews”

  1. tigersue says:

    Since I don’t know your age, my question is what is your concept of not having as many children. As I grew up most LDS families I knew had more than 3 children generally 4 to 5. A few families had much more than that. I was married at 22, and had 2 children by the time I was 27 and then no more. We tried and tried, but my body just didn’t function correctly. Now that I’m 39, I have a baby almost 20 months old, and another that is 2 months old. Go figure. One more stat, the older a woman is, the more likely she is to have twins. If God wants a couple to have “many” children they will have them. Women are have children at older ages now, more than in the past.
    I figure if most people of the LDS faith want to have families and trust God to help them in that goal there will still be large families. Also I’m not finding so many people putting off marriage. I see many young people getting married. The problem there is that fewer young men are serving missions to get married. That is a problem around here. Something perhaps you would like to discuss.

    Like

Leave a Reply

