If Romney Runs

I have some serious reservations about Mitt Romney running for President. After all, he’s a Mormon.

Now, why would a Mormon (the author of this post) say such a thing about a fellow member of the true Church? Am I anti-Republican, and ergo anti-Romney? No, that would not be accurate. While I am not a Republican currently, I was a fervent member of the Grand Old Party for quite a few years. Do I hold some sort of grudge against a man who was born in wealth and educated in the sacred halls of both the Harvard Business School and the Harvard Law School? (See Wikipedia http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mitt_Romney for more details).

No, it is absolutely fair to say that I bear this man no grudge and no ill-will. He’s handsome with more than a little bit of JFK-ishness; he’s obviously extremely intelligent; and he possesses uncanny political skills. After all, he’s a Republican governor of one of the more liberal states in the U.S.

My uneasiness lies with the fact that I don’t think America will be serviced by a Mormon President. And likewise, I don’t think that our Church will be blessed because we have a Mormon in the White House. Why? Why would I make such ribald statements?

Because, to be quite blunt, the American political system is totally and completely corrupted. I no longer believe that any man or woman can win the Presidency unless he or she makes concessions and deals with organizations and people that represent the dark side of the universe. I no longer believe that you can be President and afford to be completely honest 100% of the time. Why? Because that honesty will hang you by the throat.

Assuming Romney runs, and it appears likely that he is going to, then we just might see a Romney-Clinton race in 2008. Christian evangelicals are going to withold their support because they cannot countenance a Mormon President anymore than a Protestant could countenance a Muslim one. And, assuming Romney wins the biggest prize in American politics, we might end up with Mormons not countenancing a Mormon President, for at least a couple of reasons: it will divide the membership of the Church even more than it is already, and when the inevitable Romney scandal surfaces, it will not reflect kindly on the Church.

Thoughts? Opinions? I just thought that I would throw my reservations out there into the ether and see if anybody has anything they would like to share.

About prophetize

Erstwhile philosopher and ersatz thinker. Arabic linguist by profession. Dabble with a few other languages. I have a testimony of the gospel of Christ as restored through Joseph Smith. Strong faith in modern prophecy and prophets. Disinclined to be admiring of what passes for "progressiveness" these days.
This entry was posted in Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to If Romney Runs

  1. Jettboy says:

    Personally, although I agree that it would be hard for him because of the Evangilical elements of the Republicans and the Liberal elements of the Democrats, I don’t think his becoming president would be a bad thing. He has already proven his ability to change a dangerously contorted mess and get voted governor of a highly Democratic state. His past actions seem to dictate an ability to weather crisis and come out on top. In the end, I would say he would be anywhere from nuetral to good for the LDS Church’s image and mission; baring an excessively nasty scandal.

    Like

  2. prophetize says:

    Jettboy,

    I appreciate the comment. Indeed, for me personally, the real fear I have is that Romney will get into a scandal—not because Romney is “bad” or is corrupt himself, but just due to the fact that the environment in Washington D.C. is itself so terribly corrupt.

    In other words, I don’t think anybody can go to Washington and avoid a scandal of some sort. There are too many secret combinations and arcane regulations and ethics “requirements”. An excessively nasty scandal is par for that course. Consider: every President since Nixon has had to deal with scandals of some stripe or nature. Nixon was Watergate, of course; Ford had to deal with his pardoning of Nixon.

    Now Jimmy Carter may be a notable exception, but his goodness resulted in a one-term failed presidency. The general perception was that Carter had failed the U.S. economy.

    Reagan had Iron-Contra; Bush Senior was dealing with the legacy of Iron-Contra during his one term in office. People forget that during Bush Senior’s entire presidency, there was an independent counsel probing his administration.

    Then Clinton. Regardless of whether you like him or not, his was a scandal-plagued administration. George W. Bush has had ONE member of his administration resign and charged with a felony (he’s not convicted yet). Clinton had literally dozens of resignations and indictments…..those 8 years were ethically challenged to say the least.

    And now W. has his own issues to grapple with. The track record is rather disappointing.

    I totally agree that Romney’s record is brilliant, and speaks completely to his managerial and executive skills.

    Like

  3. Kent says:

    My reason for being uneasy about a Romney run is simple if not very admirable: I shudder at the thought of the flood of anti-Mormon rhetoric that his candidacy would doubtless trigger.

    Like

  4. Copedi says:

    And I would shudder at the “you’re not a true Mormon because you’re voting for the Democrat” rhetoric.

    Actually, I think he’s one of the better Republicans out there. He doesn’t seem to have the arrogance of the incumbent, and (partly for that reason) I can’t imagine that he would have got us involved in a preemptive war based on false evidence.

    I wish him the best, but I’d probably still end up voting for whoever’s running against him.

    Like

  5. ken says:

    It would be a tough choice for me. I have been a Democrat all my life but I hae voted republican a few times. However when the republican party did what they did to Clinton, I swore to myself I would NEVER vote for another Republican. I might make an exception for Romney, he seems to be a little more liberal than most.

    Like

Leave a Reply

